HTML logo

Professor Huseyin Sehitoglu is the 2021 winner of the Tau BetaPi Daniel Drucker Award in College of Engineering. The award citation is as follows: “This is an annual college-wide competition among distinguished faculty to recognize a faculty member of our College for dedication to academic excellence and exemplary contributions to the understanding of their field. Your extraordinary record of accomplishment, both within and beyond the boundaries of this university, persuaded us that you should receive this award.”

Professor Huseyin Sehitoglu is the winner of the 2020 Khan International Award in the Field of Plasticity.

He was honored at the next meeting of the International Plasticity Conference – the most well-known conference in plasticity – in January 2020, in Rivera Maya, Mexico. The award recognizes “outstanding life-long contributions in the field of plasticity primarily through research contributions.”

The criterion for selection includes 50 percent numerical input based on citations of his/her research papers, plus 50 percent objective input by the committee members.

Sehitoglu, who also holds the title of John, Alice and Sarah Nyquist Chair, has made important contributions to the plasticity of metals, especially on fatigue – the deterioration and failure of materials in cyclic loadings. He and his students have developed some of the most advanced theoretical models for fatigue crack initiation and fatigue crack growth accounting for the microstructure. Recently, he has worked on an important class of shape memory materials that undergo phase transformations and recover their shape upon deformation, and high entropy alloys which exhibit high strength and toughness. He has studied the role of twinning and slip and their interaction in these complex materials.

Sehitoglu’s research group currently includes seven graduate students, a post-doctoral researcher, and a visiting scholar. Notably, he previously won the 2007 Nadai Medal from ASME, and received an honorary doctorate degree in 2018 from Aalto University, Finland. Throughout his career at Illinois, he has supervised 31 MS and 34 PhD students, 14 are now in academic positions.

The Aalto University schools of technology  conferred honorary doctorates on seven eminent persons in the fields of science, technology and architecture. Please see http://www.aalto.fi/en/current/news/2018-05-15-004/. Professor Sehitoglu received  an honorary doctorate from Aalto University, Finland in June 2018.

Professor Sehitoglu is awarded the DVM Honorary Membership, 2017. The DVM (Deutscher Verband für Materialforschung und –prüfung e.V. ) stands for  German Association for Materials Research and Testing e.V. The list of Honorary Members is published  here and the award was presented to Prof. Sehitoglu during the LCF8 (Low Cycle Fatigue Conference in June 2017). 

Professor Sehitoglu is the Editor-in-Chief of a new journal called Shape Memory and Superelasticity published under the aegis of ASM/SMST (American Society of Metals/Shape Memory and Superelasticity Technologies) by Springer. The first issue appeared  on April 2015. The journal website is :www.springer.com/materials/characterization+%26+evaluation/journal/40830. His Editorial can be downloaded  from http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs40830-015-0001-8

Professor Sehitoglu is the winner of the Campus Award for Excellence in Graduate Mentoring, 2012.

The High Temperature Materials Laboratory has access to a wealth of experimental facilities and computing technology to investigate current issues in materials behavior and processing.

In this website you will find an overview of HTML’s current projects and facilities, as well as access to resources such as movies, powerpoint presentations, and papers.